So here I am, this awkward me, just trying unsuccessfully

to figure out who I’m to be, and nail this down so I can see 

this life is filled with trouble here, won’t get my way, that seems so clear

What will I do, where will I go? which direction? I don’t know

I’m relying on you now, to sort this out and tell me now

My life’s pursuit, to please my dad, I always try, it makes me  glad

it’s always tough, sometimes I fall, then he lifts me up so tall

there are times I need your hand, but not to force, not to command

I need to know I’m loved by you, your loving touch says that you do

when you hold me by your side, it fills a need I have inside

Oh touch me dad, please touch me now; I’m not sure why, I’m not sure how

your hand on me just calms me down, it gets my feet back on the ground

helps me know there’s someone who, knows just what I’ve been going through

can help me to become the man, that deep inside I think I can

I set my life to be like you, I choose the things you chose to do

Touch me dad, I need your love, I need acceptance from above

together time that we can spend, along the road, advice to lend

talk of stuff that guys discuss, and time that’s spent just being us

you call me by my own knickname, I got when we all played that game

there’s more to love than just receiving, in God’s love I’m now believing

Teach me dad, your wisdom tell, the secret of God’s power that fell

upon your life, God’s guiding hand, protecting us right where we stand

how to walk through valleys dark, and spread the light with just a spark

impacting lives that knew us well, the gospel story you did tell

how speaking words of Jesus’ life, will help us stop the spread of strif


Hear me dad, I need to know, how you can tell which way to go

how you know just what to say, that shows my mind the truth, the way

be close to me, I need to hear, your laughter that’s so loud and clear

makes my problems seem so small, from my shoulders now they fall

your voice of wisdom, sets me free, from all the traps where I would be

Heal me dad, I need your power, this has been my darkest hour

I don’t know now how to start, repair this damage to my heart

suffering has changed my view, shown me more and made me new

obedience, its own reward, moving forward, walking toward

learn again to follow you, do all the things I see you do 

Lead me dad, I’ll follow close, I’ll do the things that you do most

I’ll follow in your footsteps dear, and when you’re old I’ll hold you near

we’ll daily stop to thank the Lord, recite again His holy word

I watch you bow, I hear you pray, I see God’s love in you today

I’ll carry forward all you’ve taught, and preserve the truth you’ve sought

By Justin Ogden

justwords@videomemoriespro.com

Copyright June 19, 2016

Response to someone who asked whether the dad in the poem referred to an earthly or heavenly father:

I wrote the words down as they came, either way it’s still the same

The words have power to touch our hearts, that doesn’t come from our own smarts

The power of our father’s touch, has changed both of our lives so much

These words I give into your hand, to lead you to God’s promised land

My hand I offer as a guide, I’ll walk here with you, right beside

By Justin Ogden

justwords@videomemoriespro.com

Copyright July 8, 2017

Your turn to write

